Deadly accident
Time to bury the truth
Someone always knows
+++++Spoilers +++++
I liked this movie, more than most it seems, but it does have a heap of problems, and let’s start with what I think is the biggest problem, the third act and the reveal of the killers. Ray being one of them doesn’t make a lick of sense.
I get the trauma aspect, the bad divorce aspect, being close to the other killer aspect, the woman he works with aspect, things like that, but this reveal is terrible for all the past movies.
In the first one he was kind of clueless but likeable, a good guy, and a decent guy, and in the second Freddy put a little more gusto in the role and became kind of a badass, which I liked a lot. So to see him turn into a killer was kind of heart breaking. It really ruined a great likeable character who seemed like a really nice guy.
Julie James wasn’t used enough but I liked seeing Jennifer back again. It sort of works and sort of doesn’t. The rest of the cast is solid too. No standouts but they read their lines very well and don’t distract you with bad acting.
The movie was also about 10 minutes too long. You could have shaved some time off some of these scenes and you wouldn’t have missed that time.
There were stupid character moments even for a Slasher movie, which I can look past most of the time but this one guy going to check the gate and while in the process of checking the gate he walks right past a full on person dressed in a fisherman outfit. Are we supposed to believe they have mannequins in this place dressed like fisherman – bit of a stretch – but the surprise stab in the back was nice and jarring. Stupidity led to a good kill.
The throw away scene at the end of the movie with the two girls on the beach – not sure about that or the lead up to it with that dialogue after the hospital. All of it seemed too casual for the subject matter they are discussing.
And I could go on with even more negatives, but let’s stop the hate train and put some positivity into the episode and dive into one of my favorite parts of the movie.
The dream sequence with Sarah Michelle Gellar. Might be the movie’s biggest highlight and it actually worked, probably shouldn’t have, but it did. Good use of CGI and the deaging was better than it is in most movies. It probably helps that Sarah still looks young and it didn’t take much to deage her unlike some of these older actors.
Gore was decent. Kills were nothing spectacular but I did like when they hung the father and son up like fish at the dock. That was a nice finish to that double kill but if you are looking for insane amounts of gore this movie isn’t for you.
I also liked how they incorporated old sets and things like that into the set pieces – like the parade float from the original I know what you did last summer. That was a nice touch. Good way to add in some nostalgia.
Fisherman/Fisherwoman looked great. I always liked the look of this killer and the weapon he or she uses. Lots of carnage to be had with that weapon.
Mid credit scene was good too with Brandy and Jennifer – and if there is a movie to be had with them chasing down this killer then sign me up. Don’t care if it doesn’t make a lick of sense I would still watch it and what would the title of it be.
Comment with your titles?
Mine would be this. I know what you did last summer and since you did this thing last summer we are going to kill you for that thing you did last summer – rolls of the tongue, right?
Overall, the first two acts were solid, but it is in the third act where this movie has the biggest problems and that’s where you don’t want to have them. Okay to start slow or slightly off and course correct as you move through the film. But you got to close strong. Leave the audience wanting more.
That’s it. What are your thoughts about I know what you did last summer? Did you enjoy it? Does Ray as the killer work for you? Let me know all that in the comments.
Take care. Have a good one and be safe on those dark roads at night.
See the video for this script:
Love it – Leave a Reply – For This Guy